Aurelio Gonzalez: slides presented by Rosangela Renno

Exhibition of slides from 20 analogue projectors placed in a relatively small space allowing viewers to project the slides/ images they wanted to see.

At The Photographers’ Gallery, London.

Date: 24th January, 2016.

Curator: Rosangela Renno

Location, setting, atmosphere:

Again, having come up to this exhibition after having been totally bamboozled by the Irish exhibition, I needed tim etc get used to this totally new form of exhibition where you saw what you wanted to see, and to be told that they are ‘ghosts on the negative’s surface’ (curator).

IMG_1152.jpg

The atmosphere, after the Irish setting, was quite liberating & the emphasis, far from immersing you in historical events which I was expecting, was on the effects created by the projection of the images: the ghosting, the images stretched / distorted by the projection & how it affected what you saw / read.

Three positives:

  • small number of images on show & that I had autonomy on what I saw having read the descriptions on the projector stands.
  • I could listen to the audio coverage.
  • fewer viewers so I had the time I wanted /needed to look around.

One wish:

  • ?

Example of the work:

IMG_1145.jpg

 

Highlights:

  •  there was a variety of subjects covered
  • the people’s animation was almost palpable

IMG_1144.jpg

  • the freedom to see what you wanted
  • the viewers developing their own images/slides:

IMG_1147

What I took away with me about the work:

  •  Intensity of expression.
  • Flexibility of showing / projecting.

How the work affected me:

  •  I enjoyed the absence of viewer pressure in the exhibition.
  • I enjoyed the novel format.

Notes:

  • There are many ways of exhibiting work.
  • The format increased the sense of history of the slides.
  • Viewers also like to be active participants in exhibitions.

Next steps:

  • experiment with acetate projections?

Star rating: 4*  More projectors?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Aurelio Gonzalez: slides presented by Rosangela Renno”

    1. They were distorted because they were not projecting straight on to the wall but at a slight (accidental?) angle, and because the light on the wall from the projector was not always uniform. It was to do with the physical projection rather than with the slides.
      No, I have not used acetate but a recent art exhibition I saw did & the effect was very sharp. I have used tracing paper – I shall bring up examples on 16th(?) – & I really like it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

